Donovan Dale and Marcus Davis named CIS All-Canadians

MONTREAL (CIS) - The 2014 Canadian Interuniversity Sport football major award winners and all-stars were announced on Thursday evening during the Sun Life Financial All-Canadian Banquet. UBC freshman phenom kick returner Marcus Davis was named a CIS First Team All-Canadian and defensive tackle Donovan Dale was named a CIS Second Team All-Canadian.

The awards gala was held at Sheraton Montreal Centre as part of the 50th TELUS Vanier Cup celebrations. The McMaster University Marauders face the University of Montreal Carabins in the milestone championship game Saturday at 1 p.m. EST at Percival Molson Memorial Stadium, live on Sportsnet, Sportsnet 360, Radio-Canada and

"Sun Life Financial is thrilled and proud to partner with Canadian Interuniversity Sport for the presentation of the 50th Vanier Cup banquet. I salute the determination, passion and commitment of the players who excel not only on the field but also in the classroom. Among those exceptional models are without a doubt the leaders of tomorrow and maybe our future colleagues," said Robert Dumas, President, Sun Life Financial, Quebec.

"As mayor of Montreal, graduate from the University of Montreal and avid sports fan, I am pleased but also very honoured to be honorary chairman of this 2014 Vanier Cupbanquet," said the mayor of Montreal, Mr. Denis Coderre. "Finally, the Vanier Cup in Montreal for the first time in 50 years! The Carabins and Marauders will offer a memorablesporting moment for football fans, like me. This is a great sporting event for Montreal, the kind of grand and unifying event which helps define a city like ours."

Andrew Buckley, a fourth-year quarterback from the University of Calgary, received the prestigious Hec Crighton Trophy as the outstanding player in CIS football, on Thursday evening.

The kinesiology student from Calgary had a dream night at the awards gala held at Sheraton Montreal Centre as he also claimed for the second straight season the Russ Jackson Award honouring excellence in football, academics and citizenship. He is the first player in CIS history to merit both awards in his career.

Other CIS award winners announced during the Sun Life Financial All-Canadian Banquet were Saint Mary's linebacker Jonathan Langa, who captured the Presidents' Trophy as defensive player of the year; Ottawa defensive tackle Ettore Lattanzio, who merited the J.P. Metras Trophy as most outstanding down lineman beating out UBC's Dononvan Dale; Laval quarterback Hugo Richard, who received the Peter Gorman Trophy as top rookie got the nod ahead of UBC's Marcus Davis; and Mount Allison head coach Kelly Jeffrey, who claimed the Frank Tindall Trophy.

The CIS all-star selections were dominated by a pair of usual suspects, with the Calgary Dinos placing no less than nine players among the CIS elite, including six on the first team and a trio on the second unit, while the Laval Rouge et Or had six players honoured (4-2).

On offence, the first all-Canadian team is comprised of Calgary quarterback Andrew Buckley, running backs Mercer Timmis of Calgary and Dillon Campbell of Wilfrid Laurier, receivers Brett Blaszko of Calgary, Mikhaïl Davidson of Montreal, Addison Richards of Regina and Nathaniel Behar of Carleton, as well as linemen Sean McEwen of Calgary, Western teammates Edmund Meredith and Sean Jamieson, and Laval teammates Karl Lavoie and Charles Vaillancourt.

Timmis, Lavoie and Vaillancourt are all returnees from last year's first squad.

Buckley had a dream night as he also returned home with the Hec Crighton Trophy and the Russ Jackson Award. The fourth-year pivot had a superb season with 2,175 passing yards, 18 touchdown passes and only four interceptions in eight league games, as well as 10 rushing majors.

Campbell was the OUA nominee for the Hec Crighton. The fourth-year senior led the country with a school-record 1,458 rushing yards and 13 touchdowns.

On defence, the first CIS team is made up of linemen Ettore Lattanzio of Ottawa, Daryl Waud of Western, Vincent Desloges of Laval and Jesse St. James of Acadia, linebackersByron Archambault of Montreal, Adam Konar of Calgary and Jonathan Langa of Saint Mary's, safety Kwame Adjei of Mount Allison, halfbacks Kris Robertson of Concordia and Chris Ackie of Laurier, as well as corners Adam Laurensse of Calgary and Paolo Edwards of StFX.

Lattanzio, St. James and Adjei were all voted to the top unit for the second straight year. Lattanzio also captured the J.P. Metras Trophy as the country's best lineman, while Langa was named the stand-up defensive player of the year and received the Presidents' Trophy.

Rounding out the first-team all-Canadians for 2014, on special teams, were Laval punter Boris Bede, McMaster placekicker Tyler Crapigna and UBC kick returner Marcus Davis, the only freshman named to the top constellation.

Crapigna, a draft pick of the Calgary Stampeders last spring, is the new CIS career leader in field goals with 84. He made 24 of 27 attempts in his fifth and final season with the Marauders for a stellar 89 percent success rate.

#news #honours #cis #allcanadians

  • facebook-logo
  • Instagram-Logo
  • Youtube-Logo
  • Twitter-Logo

© 2019 13th Man Foundation.

The 13th Man Foundation is not affiliated with UBC and is a separate and independent legal entity that sets its own fundraising priorities.